The University of Huddersfield Press was established in 2007, to provide an outlet for publication for University and external authors, to encourage new and aspiring authors to publish in their areas of subject expertise and to raise the profile of University research through the Press publications.

In 2010 the Press was re-established with an editorial board consisting of consisting of key members of staff from CLS, the Research Office, Schools and the University Solicitor. The principles governing the Press are:

All material published is of high quality and peer reviewed
Material should be published Open Access in order to maximise the potential for dissemination to as wide an audience as possible. Publications may also be made available by print-on-demand.
The Press will operate on a cost recovery profit sharing model, with any profits being reinvested into the Press
The University Press is managed by Computing and Library Services with decisions on which items to publish taken by the Press Editorial Board, following evaluation of proposals based on agreed criteria.

The University Press Editorial Board members are:

Prof Tim Thornton Deputy Vice Chancellor
Sue White Director of Computing and Library Services
Dr Martyn Walker Head of Staff Development and Student Liaison, School of Education and Professional Development
Prof Monty Adkins Professor of Experimental Electronic Music
Prof Jim McAuley Director, Institute for Research in Citizenship and Applied Human Sciences
Rebecca McCall University Solicitor
Megan Taylor University Press and Marketing Manager
Dr Tracy Turner Deputy Director, Reasearch and Enterprise